Joan holds an MFA from Wichita State University where she was awarded the fiction fellowship.
She is the author of This Will Never Stop, a novel narrated by four generations of Appalachian
women, of which Kirkus Reviews said, “Spilman’s textured prose masterfully evokes the hard-
knock lives and locales of these women. A highly readable and adeptly crafted addition to the
literature of Appalachia.” BookLife recommends her writing for fans of Fannie Flagg, Pat Conroy, and Sue Monk Kidd, adding, “Vivid descriptions and emotional intelligence create a lasting impression.” Book Trib states, “ The overarching message is more grand. This is a sociological study of poverty, lack of education, and religious intolerance (as Lorraine says, ‘Religion isn’t like cleaning a chicken, you can’t take the messy parts out!’)”

Her short novella, The Establishing Witness, won both the George Garret Prize for Prose and the Mikrokosmos Fiction Prize at Wichita State. Sansablatt Head, a young adult novel, was given a five-star review by Kirkus Reviews, which called it “a masterfully woven adventure, likely to leave fantasy lovers in awe.” She has published short stories in The Laurel Review, The Carriage House Review, The Southern Humanities Review, Willow Springs, Short Story International and many others. She has received a PEN Syndicated Fiction Award, judged by Jayne Anne Philips. Joan has also written a books for young readers about zombie ducks, under the general title of The Waddling Dead.

She is currently working on Sugarpool, another novel that takes place in Appalachia, as well as a high fantasy entitled Book I of the Outer Flower Trilogy: Flight. Deadline for these is November 2020, and a coin toss will determine which is finished first. Her blog features excerpts from both these ongoing works, as well as portions of This Will Never Stop.

Check out her reviews on BookTrib!

Archives
About Joan Spilman

Appalachian literature, fantasy, short stories, excerpts from E-book, The Outer Flower

Site Navigation
Archives
Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google